ICC Members Elect Board Officers, Directors

Share With:

International Code Council Members elected board officers and directors during ICC’s 2013 Annual Conference in Atlantic City, N.J.

Stephen D. Jones, CBO, Construction Official for the Township of Millburn and the Borough of Florham Park, N.J., was elected President. He urged his colleagues to be mentors and recognized the work of code officials throughout New Jersey and the east coast for their efforts to serve the public in the recovery from Superstorm Sandy: “It was through the tireless work of the code professionals and emergency service personnel at the federal, state and local levels that we were able to prevail and recover,” Jones said.

Guy Tomberlin, CBO, Building Code Services Manager for the Fairfax County, Va., Land Development Services, was elected Vice President. Alex “Cash” Olszowy, Building Inspection Supervisor for the Lexington Fayette Urban County Government, Lexington, Ky., was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

Jim H. Brown, CBO, Deputy Building Official, Gillette, Wyo., Greece, N.Y., Fire Marshal Rob Drexler and Georgia State Fire Marshal M. Dwayne Garriss were re-elected to the Board. Newly elected to the Board were Gilbert Gonzales, CBO, Murray, Utah, City Chief Building Official and Lynn Underwood, MCP, Code Official, Norfolk, Va., Department of Planning.

ICC Board members not standing for election this year are: Ronald Piester, AIA, Immediate Past President, Director New York State Department of State, Division of Code Enforcement and Administration; Robert G. Boyer, CBO, Codes, Products and Training Coordinator, Palm Beach County, Fla., Planning, Zoning and Building Department; William R. Bryant, MCP, Code Enforcement Administrator, Department of Inspections and Permits, Anne Arundel County, Md.; Jay Elbettar, CBO, Building Official, Mission Viejo, Calif.; Ron Hoover, MCP, Director, Marion, Iowa., Building Inspection Department and Fire Chief, Alburnett, Iowa.; Patrick Parsley, CBO, Building Official, Fairmont, Minn.; Tina Rakes, Codes Administrator, Baldwin City, Kan.; Ravi Shah, Assoc. AIA, CBO, Director of Development Services, Carrollton, Texas; Richard C. Truitt Sr., Deputy Code Director, Harford County, Md.; and Greg Wheeler, CBO, Chief Building Official, Thornton, Colo.

“The Members of our volunteer Board of Directors devote their time, energy and expertise to the Code Council to ensure safe construction while lessening the burden on government to develop their own codes,” said ICC Chief Executive Officer Dominic Sims. “We thank them for their leadership, and we thank their local jurisdictions for supporting their service.”

The International Code Council is a member-focused association. It is dedicated to developing model codes and standards used in the design, build and compliance process to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Most U.S. communities and many global markets choose the International Codes.

Join the conversation: