ICC honors industry experts

Share With:

The International Code Council (ICC) will honor industry experts for their contributions to safety in the built environment during its 2013 Annual Conference Sept. 29-Oct. 2 in Atlantic City, N.J.:

• Henry Green, President of the National Institute of Building Sciences, will be presented the prestigious Bobby J. Fowler Award;
• Laura Rouse-DeVore, Code Enforcement Officer for the Village of Montgomery, Ill., will receive the Gerald H. Jones Code Official of the Year Award;
• Fulton Cochran, Deputy Fire Marshal for the City of Henderson, Nev., will be honored with the ICC Fire Service Award;
• The Butte County, Calif., Department of Development Services Building Division and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will be recipients of ICC Community Service Awards;
• And Dennis Pitts, South Central Regional Director of the American Wood Council, will accept the ICC Affiliate Award.

Green will be presented the prestigious Bobby J. Fowler Award, which honors the memory of the first chairman of the ICC Board of Directors who was a visionary for the consolidation of the Code Council, which celebrates its 10th anniversary this year. The award is given to an individual whose contributions to the building safety and fire prevention industry advance the ICC’s goals in achieving a safer and more sustainable built environment. Particular emphasis is placed on the recipient’s focus beyond local or regional concerns to issues and activities that span the globe.

Rouse-DeVore will receive the Gerald H. Jones Code Official of the Year Award, which is presented to an individual whose contributions to the code enforcement profession are meritorious. The individual must demonstrate professional abilities and be recognized as an example for all members of the code enforcement profession. The award was renamed in honor of retired code official and engineer Gerald H. Jones and is given in memory of three founders of the Code Council’s legacy organizations: Albert H. Baum, M.L. Clement and Phil Roberts.

Cochran will receive the ICC Fire Service Award, which is bestowed to an individual for service, professional abilities and leadership that are exemplary in the development of the International Fire Code and one who has served as an example to all fire prevention and fire protection professionals. The award honors Robert W. Gain, a founder of the Uniform Fire Code.

Butte County and FEMA will receive ICC Community Service Awards, which recognize meritorious service by an individual, organization, jurisdiction or community group that promotes public health, safety and welfare by initiating activities or actions that are above and beyond normal expectations.
Pitts will receive the ICC Affiliate Award, which is presented in honor of John Fies, Wilbur H. Lind and Alton Riddick, who demonstrated unselfish service to the Code Council’s legacy organizations. Recipients demonstrate integrity, professionalism and dedication through service to the building safety profession and personal standards representing the spirit of public service to the development of codes and standards in the interest of public safety.

Join the conversation: